NNetify
Back to MPLS guide and shortlist

Cogent

Harry Yelland’s research · 2026-10-06 · Live research database · 2026-10-06.1

Original research wording and source decisions. Partial evidence is not confirmed capability; rejected sources do not support a claim. Research notes and workbook instructions are source material, not buyer instructions.

Research status: Complete

Editorial

Slug
cogent
Notes
Final copy from article draft of 2026-10-06
Provider
Cogent
Reviewed by
Harry Yelland
Best for (20 words max)
Estates wanting a global IP network, with an MPLS style private network as a secondary offer.
Review date (YYYY-MM-DD)
2026-10-06
Strength 1 (25 words max)
Operates one of the largest IP networks, with NOCs in Washington D.C., Herndon, Overland Park and Madrid.
Strength 2 (25 words max)
Lists UK PoPs including London, Manchester, Edinburgh, Glasgow and Belfast.
Strength 3 (25 words max)
Names an SD-WAN overlay.
Weakness 1 (25 words max)
The only SLA text found is a 2006 copy, so no current availability, latency or loss figure is recorded.
Weakness 2 (25 words max)
No UK based NOC or 24x7 NOC statement was found.
Weakness 3 (25 words max)
No SD-WAN platform or SASE platform was found.
Buyer size fit (comma separated: Large global enterprise, Mid-market, Small business)
Large global enterprise
Verdict (40 words max; must include one figure from the fact sheets and the review month)
Netify would consider Cogent where a global IP network matters more than MPLS detail, with UK PoPs in five cities and four NOC sites. Its only SLA found dates from 2006, so ask for current terms. Reviewed October 2026.

Providers

Slug
cogent
Notes
Legal name and number are a Companies House name match only. Contracting entity, parent, type, URLs and Ofcom status not yet reviewed. Added from the current Netify page. Re-check 2026-10-02 (page-reader wording, confirm on the page): the outside pass cited the Taiwan MPLS page; the English MPLS IP-VPN page exists and is used. The SLA PDF covers MPLS IP-VPN as well as internet and Ethernet: 100% availability and 99.9% packet delivery (entered as 0.1% loss, a published target), with 45 ms or less in North America and 35 ms or less intra-Europe, not 90 ms. No UK-only latency is published, so UK core latency is left to review. The Bristol address is the registered office only, so NOC and UK support cells are left out. The Companies House PSC is Cogent Communications Holdings, Inc. directly. Cells filled on 2026-10-02 from the outside research pass are Partial unless the re-check confirmed them. Not found means the pass searched and saw nothing, not that it does not exist. Verify each against its source row, then set Decision.
Website
https://www.cogentco.com
Provider
Cogent
Provider type
Tier-1 global carrier
Parent or group
Cogent Communications Holdings, Inc. (Companies House PSC)
Research status
Complete
Supporting source IDs
MPLS-193, MPLS-506, MPLS-507, MPLS-508, MPLS-576
Companies House number
04014628
Registered office country
United Kingdom
Exclusion reason (if Excluded)
Not recorded
Cells still To review (formula)
=COUNTIF(C38:Q38,"To review")
MPLS or IP VPN service page URL
https://www.cogentco.com/en/products-and-services/vpn/mpls
SD-WAN or SASE service page URL
https://www.cogentco.com/en/products-and-services/vpn/sd-wan
UK contracting entity confirmed
Partial
Legal entity name (Companies House)
Cogent Communications UK Ltd
Ofcom-regulated communications provider
Partial
Year MPLS or IP VPN service first offered (if published)
Not published

Sector Evidence

Slug
cogent
Notes
Not recorded
Provider
Cogent
Education: UK case
No
Healthcare: UK case
No
Supporting source IDs
None recorded
Manufacturing: UK case
No
Education: evidence status
Not found
Financial services: UK case
No
Healthcare: evidence status
Not found
Energy and utilities: UK case
No
Manufacturing: evidence status
Not found
Professional services: UK case
No
Retail and e-commerce: UK case
No
Cells still To review (formula)
=COUNTIF(C38:X38,"To review")
Hospitality and leisure: UK case
No
Transport and logistics: UK case
No
Financial services: evidence status
Not found
Energy and utilities: evidence status
Not found
Government and public sector: UK case
No
Professional services: evidence status
Not found
Retail and e-commerce: evidence status
Not found
Hospitality and leisure: evidence status
Not found
Transport and logistics: evidence status
Not found
Government and public sector: evidence status
Not found

Commercial Model

Slug
cogent
Notes
Outside-pass details, unverified (Partial or Not found entered from them): Billing in GBP: UK entity. Fourth research pass 2026-10-02, page-reader summaries: Install lead time published (weeks or Not : figure seen but not entered (Less than 2 weeks for most on-net Internet and VPN services (global, n). Group-wide statement for on-net services, not UK. Optical waves under 30 business days.
Provider
Cogent
Billing in GBP
Partial
Supporting source IDs
MPLS-507, MPLS-513, MPLS-824
Cells still To review (formula)
=COUNTIF(C38:L38,"To review")
Minimum term (months or Not published)
Not published
Channel or wholesale route for resellers
Not found
Pricing published (never record a price)
Quote only
Excess construction charges policy published
Not found
Contract terms offered (comma separated months)
Not published
Install lead time published (weeks or Not published)
Not published
Public-sector frameworks available through (comma separated)
None found on the RM6116, HSCN or G-Cloud registers checked

Network and Coverage

Slug
cogent
Notes
Outside-pass details, unverified (Partial or Not found entered from them): Owns core network: one of the world's largest Internet Service Providers. Research pass 2026-10-02 (page-reader summaries, not verbatim): UK PoP cities (comma separated) Partial: Checked 2026-10-02. Entity: Cogent Communications (cogentco.com, global site). Cities read from the Europe network map via reader | Global PoP count (integer or Not publish Not found: Checked 2026-10-02. Entity: Cogent Communications (cogentco.com, global site). Page gives 308 markets in 58 countries; markets are | Coverage: Asia Pacific Partial: Checked 2026-10-02. Entity: Cogent Communications (cogentco.com, global site). From reader summary of undated map. Internet-led ne | On-net UK data centres (comma separated) Partial: Checked 2026-10-02. Entity: Cogent Communications (cogentco.com, global site). Operator names read from reader summary; UK facilit | Coverage: Middle East and Africa Partial: Checked 2026-10-02. Entity: Cogent Communications (cogentco.com, global site). Entries seen in reader summary of the Asia-Pacific | Coverage: Latin America Partial: Checked 2026-10-02. Entity: Cogent Communications (cogentco.com, global site). From reader summary of undated map; internet networ Second research pass 2026-10-02, page-reader summaries: Countries with on-net PoPs (count): value shown with caveat. Cogent own site, global figure not UK. Counts markets served on facilities-based network; 'on-net PoPs' not stated. Country list not seen. Page undate Figure seen: 58 Third research pass 2026-10-02, page-reader summaries: Countries with on-net PoPs (count): figure seen but not entered (58 countries (308 markets)). Cogent global figure for its IP network, not a UK figure and not stated as MPLS PoPs. Partial because the page says serves, not on-net PoPs, Fourth research pass 2026-10-02, page-reader summaries: Countries with on-net PoPs (count): figure seen but not entered (57). Filing says services delivered in 57 countries, not strictly on-net PoPs. Cogent Network Map page (cogentco.com/en/network/network-map, unda | NOC locations (comma separated): value entered. Group-level statement from US parent filing. FY201
24x7 NOC
Not found
Provider
Cogent
UK-based NOC
Not found
Coverage: Europe
Partial
Owns core network
Partial
Supporting source IDs
MPLS-506, MPLS-509, MPLS-727, MPLS-728, MPLS-729, MPLS-730, MPLS-731, MPLS-778, MPLS-809, MPLS-824
Coverage: Asia Pacific
Partial
Coverage: Latin America
Partial
Coverage: North America
Partial
Coverage: China mainland
Not found
Cells still To review (formula)
=COUNTIF(C38:X38,"To review")
NOC locations (comma separated)
Washington D.C., Herndon Virginia, Overland Park Kansas, Madrid Spain
UK PoP cities (comma separated)
London, Manchester, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Belfast, Cambridge, Leeds, Birmingham, Newcastle, Liverpool/Southport, Nottingham, Slough
Coverage: Middle East and Africa
Partial
Countries with on-net PoPs (list)
Not found
Countries with on-net PoPs (count)
Not published
NOC count (integer or Not published)
Not published
Core network description (25 words max)
Global high-speed private network solutions, operating one of the largest IP networks in the world
UK PoP count (integer or Not published)
Not published
On-net UK data centres (comma separated)
Operators with Cogent-lit UK facilities: Digital Realty, Interxion, Colt Data Centres, Centersquare; individual UK sites not named
Global PoP count (integer or Not published)
Not published
UK access tails available (comma separated carriers)
Own network
Coverage: UK and Ireland (Proven = own PoPs; Partner = via partner)
Partial

Hybrid WAN SD-WAN SASE

Slug
cogent
Notes
Outside-pass details, unverified (Partial or Not found entered from them): SD-WAN overlay offered: SD-WAN service.
Provider
Cogent
Managed SD-WAN
Not found
Managed firewall
Not found
Co-managed option
Not found
SASE platform offered
Not found
Supporting source IDs
MPLS-512
Zero trust network access
Not found
Secure web gateway or CASB
Not found
Cells still To review (formula)
=COUNTIF(C38:Q38,"To review")
MPLS to SD-WAN migration service
Not found
Application-aware routing over MPLS
Not found
Security operations centre or managed detection
Not found
SD-WAN overlay offered (SD-WAN is a component of SASE)
Partial
Hybrid underlay on one contract (MPLS plus DIA plus broadband)
Not found
SASE or SSE partners (comma separated: Zscaler, Netskope, Palo Alto Prisma, Cato, Cloudflare, Fortinet, other)
Not published
SD-WAN platforms offered (comma separated: Cisco Catalyst, Cisco Meraki, Fortinet, Versa, VeloCloud, Palo Alto Prisma, Juniper, HPE Aruba, other)
Not published

Service and Performance

IPv6
Not found
Slug
cogent
Notes
Outside-pass details, unverified (Partial or Not found entered from them): Layer 3 IP VPN (MPLS): MPLS IP-VPN, Virtual Private Network; Any-to-any: connect your global locations securely; DIA on same contract: Dedicated Internet Access. Register check 2026-10-02 (page-reader summaries, not verbatim): AWS Direct Connect partner list: EU Ireland (Dublin/London area) and EU London; Google Cloud Interconnect service providers: Cogentco in overall list; not under London. Fourth research pass 2026-10-02, page-reader summaries: Service credits published: figure seen but not entered (Yes, 1 day credit = 1/30th of monthly recurring charge (2006 document)). Customer-side copy of a January 2006 SLA, North America and Europe, older than three years. Current cogentco.com SLA page not located (two U
Provider
Cogent
Multicast
Not found
4G or 5G backup
Not found
DDoS protection
Not found
Ethernet access
Partial
SLA document URL
https://cogentco.com/files/docs/network/performance/global_sla.pdf
Satellite access
Not found
Any-to-any topology
Partial
Layer 2 VPLS or E-LAN
Not found
Layer 3 IP VPN (MPLS)
Partial
Supporting source IDs
MPLS-507, MPLS-510, MPLS-511, MPLS-654, MPLS-655, MPLS-825
Hub-and-spoke topology
Not found
FTTP or broadband access
Not found
Internet breakout at PoP
Not found
Service credits published
Not found
Jitter (ms or Not published)
Not published
Access bandwidth maximum (Mb/s)
Not published
Access bandwidth minimum (Mb/s)
Not published
Cells still To review (formula)
=COUNTIF(C38:AI38,"To review")
CoS marking honoured end to end
Not found
Packet loss (% or Not published)
0.1
Point-to-point Ethernet (E-Line)
Not found
Cloud on-ramp: AWS Direct Connect
Partial
Cloud on-ramp: Azure ExpressRoute
Not found
Diverse routing or dual parenting
Not found
MEF 3.0 Carrier Ethernet certified
Not found
Cloud on-ramp: Google Cloud Interconnect
Partial
Availability SLA core (% or Not published)
100
Direct internet access on the same contract
Partial
QoS classes offered (count or Not published)
Not published
MTTR or repair target (hours or Not published)
Not published
Latency UK core round trip (ms or Not published)
Not published
Availability SLA access with resilience (% or Not published)
100

Operations and Assurance

Slug
cogent
Notes
Outside-pass details, unverified (Partial or Not found entered from them): Proactive monitoring: proactive outage notification. Register check 2026-10-02 (page-reader summaries, not verbatim): RM6116: not on any lot supplier list read (full all-suppliers list not readable); No Cogent entry in any lot list (COCONNECT, COMMSWORLD). Method: WebFetch reader summaries of gca.gov.uk lot-supplier pa.
ISO 9001
Not found
Provider
Cogent
ISO 22301
Not found
ISO 27001
Not found
API access
Not found
G-Cloud listed
Not found
HSCN compliant
Not found
Customer portal
Not found
UK-based support
Not found
Proactive monitoring
Partial
SC-cleared engineers
Not found
Cyber Essentials Plus
Not found
Monthly SLA reporting
Not found
Supporting source IDs
MPLS-511
PSN connectivity compliance
Not found
Cells still To review (formula)
=COUNTIF(C38:T38,"To review")
Change management process published
Not found
CCS Network Services 3 (RM6116) supplier
Not found
Regulatory notices or published enforcement in last three years (text or None found)
None found (outside-pass search with no source URL; check the Ofcom enforcement register)

Supporting records

MPLS-193 — Accepted: Companies House: Cogent Communications Uk Ltd
Slug
cogent
Decision
Accepted
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-193
Confidence
Medium
Source URL
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/search/companies?q=cogent+communications+uk
Record type
Company record
Checked date
2026-10-01
Source title
Companies House: Cogent Communications Uk Ltd
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
2
Source ownership
Independent public record
Limitation and notes
Companies House search result. Trading name to legal entity match made on the name only, so confirm the contracting entity from the provider terms. Wording captured through a page-reader summary on 2026-10-01. Confirm verbatim on the page, then set Decision. Added from the current Netify page. Decision 2026-10-06: Accepted (tier 2 source, wording and supported columns recorded, reader-checked; verbatim check on the live page still due).
Sector (if case study)
Not recorded
Named product or service
Not recorded
Named customer (case studies only)
Not recorded
Sheets and columns this source supports
Providers: Legal entity name; Companies House number; Registered office country
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
COGENT COMMUNICATIONS UK LTD
MPLS-506 — Rejected: Cogent Communications
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-506
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/?lang=en
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Cogent Communications
Published date
2026-09-28
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Wording came from an outside research pass and is not verified verbatim. Confirm on the page, then set Decision. Live page check 2026-10-06: not reached (checker stopped early). Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page not published or available to review (could not be read or checked on the live page); Harry's call 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Providers: Provider type; Network and Coverage: Coverage: UK and Ireland (Proven = own PoPs; Partner = via partner); Network and Coverage: Core network description (25 words max); Network and Coverage: Owns core network; Network and Coverage: Coverage: North America; Network and Coverage: Coverage: Europe; Network and Coverage: UK access tails available (comma separated carriers)
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
Cogent is one of the world's largest Internet Service Providers, delivering high-quality Internet, Ethernet and Colocation services
MPLS-507 — Accepted: MPLS IP-VPN
Slug
cogent
Decision
Accepted
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-507
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/en/products-and-services/vpn/mpls
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
MPLS IP-VPN
Published date
2026-09-08
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Wording came from an outside research pass and is not verified verbatim. Confirm on the page, then set Decision. English MPLS IP-VPN page; the outside pass cited the Taiwan page Live page check 2026-10-06: supports a weaker or differently scoped claim. MPLS IP-VPN page exists; any-to-any topology, explicit Layer 3 and published pricing not stated in fetch result. Decision 2026-10-06: Accepted (live page read; supports a weaker or differently scoped claim, so the limitation above applies; accepted by Harry 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Providers: MPLS or IP VPN service page URL; Service and Performance: Any-to-any topology; Service and Performance: Layer 3 IP VPN (MPLS); Commercial Model: Pricing published (never record a price)
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
Connect your global locations securely over a dedicated Virtual Private Network (VPN), business class traffic, full line rate
MPLS-508 — Rejected: UKRN telecommunications
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-508
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://ukrn.org.uk/sector/telecommunications/
Record type
Regulator or framework record
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
UKRN telecommunications
Published date
2026-03-11
Reliability tier
2
Source ownership
Independent public record
Limitation and notes
Wording came from an outside research pass and is not verified verbatim. Confirm on the page, then set Decision. Live page check 2026-10-06: not reached (checker stopped early). Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page not published or available to review (could not be read or checked on the live page); Harry's call 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Providers: Ofcom-regulated communications provider
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
Ofcom is responsible for economic regulation (notably fixed telecoms network infrastructure)
MPLS-509 — Rejected: VPN
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-509
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://cogentco.com/en/products-and-services/vpn
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
VPN
Published date
2026-09-28
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Wording came from an outside research pass and is not verified verbatim. Confirm on the page, then set Decision. Live page check 2026-10-06: not reached (checker stopped early). Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page not published or available to review (could not be read or checked on the live page); Harry's call 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Network and Coverage: Core network description (25 words max)
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
Global high-speed private network solutions, Over 3,627 Cogent-lit buildings
MPLS-510 — Rejected: Cogent Dedicated Internet Access
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-510
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/files/docs/network/on_net/brochure_dia.pdf
Record type
SLA or service description
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Cogent Dedicated Internet Access
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Wording came from an outside research pass and is not verified verbatim. Confirm on the page, then set Decision. PDF brochure Live page check 2026-10-06: page does not support the claim. DIA brochure gives SLA terms but does not state DIA is on the same contract as other services. Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page does not support the claim).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Service and Performance: Direct internet access on the same contract
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
SERVICE LEVEL AGREEMENT (SLA), Network Availability 100%, Packet Delivery > 99.9%, Network Latency Intra North America < 45 ms
MPLS-511 — Rejected: Service Level Agreement
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-511
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/en/products-and-services/94-products-supporting-docs/1433-service-level-agreement
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Service Level Agreement
Published date
2026-09-22
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Wording came from an outside research pass and is not verified verbatim. Confirm on the page, then set Decision. Live page check 2026-10-06: not reached (checker stopped early). Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page not published or available to review (could not be read or checked on the live page); Harry's call 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Service and Performance: SLA document URL; Service and Performance: Packet loss (% or Not published); Service and Performance: Availability SLA core (% or Not published); Service and Performance: Availability SLA access with resilience (% or Not published); Operations and Assurance: Proactive monitoring
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
100% network availability, 99.9% packet delivery, <45 ms round trip latency (North America), proactive outage notification
MPLS-512 — Rejected: SD-WAN
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-512
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/en/75-products-a-services/sd-wan
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
SD-WAN
Published date
2025-11-10
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Wording came from an outside research pass and is not verified verbatim. Confirm on the page, then set Decision. Live page check 2026-10-06: not reached (checker stopped early). Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page not published or available to review (could not be read or checked on the live page); Harry's call 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Hybrid WAN SD-WAN SASE: SD-WAN overlay offered (SD-WAN is a component of SASE)
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
Cogent Dedicated Internet Access service installed 20 times faster
MPLS-513 — Rejected: COGENT COMMUNICATIONS UK LTD overview
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-513
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04014628
Record type
Company record
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
COGENT COMMUNICATIONS UK LTD overview
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
2
Source ownership
Independent public record
Limitation and notes
Wording came from an outside research pass and is not verified verbatim. Confirm on the page, then set Decision. Companies House Live page check 2026-10-06: not reached (checker stopped early). Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page not published or available to review (could not be read or checked on the live page); Harry's call 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Commercial Model: Billing in GBP
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
Company number 04014628, 5th Floor Halo, Counterslip, Bristol, BS1 6BX
MPLS-576 — Accepted: Persons with Significant Control for COGENT COMMUNICATIONS UK LTD
Slug
cogent
Decision
Accepted
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-576
Confidence
Medium
Source URL
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04014628/persons-with-significant-control
Record type
Company record
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Persons with Significant Control for COGENT COMMUNICATIONS UK LTD
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
2
Source ownership
Independent public record
Limitation and notes
Page-reader wording from the 2026-10-02 re-check, not verbatim. The Sarl may exist as intermediate holding but is not on the PSC register for the UK entity. Decision 2026-10-06: Accepted (tier 2 source, wording and supported columns recorded, reader-checked; verbatim check on the live page still due).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Providers: Parent or group
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
Cogent Communications Holdings, Inc. ... Ownership of shares 75% or more
MPLS-654 — Accepted: AWS Direct Connect partner list: Cogent Communications
Slug
cogent
Decision
Accepted
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-654
Confidence
Medium
Source URL
https://aws.amazon.com/directconnect/partners/
Record type
Other
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
AWS Direct Connect partner list: Cogent Communications
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
2
Source ownership
Independent public record
Limitation and notes
Vendor partner list, group or global brand (not the UK registered entity). Locations: EU Ireland (Dublin/London area) and EU London. Group brand. Shell cannot reach aws.amazon.com (proxy rejected); WebFetch reader summaries of the partners page, which differed between two fetches (KCOM/hSo/Masergy 'not listed' in one, present in the other), so treat as moderate confidenc Decision 2026-10-06: Needs review (scope or date limitation in the note (entity, geography, product, age or access)). Live page check 2026-10-06: supports a weaker or differently scoped claim. Summary shows 100% availability, 99.9% packet delivery, latency under 45 ms for North America; full terms in separate global SLA PDF. Decision 2026-10-06: Accepted (live page read; supports a weaker or differently scoped claim, so the limitation above applies; accepted by Harry 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Service and Performance: Cloud on-ramp: AWS Direct Connect
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
Cogent Communications listed: EU Ireland (Dublin/London area) and EU London
MPLS-655 — Rejected: Google Cloud Interconnect service providers: Cogentco
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-655
Confidence
Medium
Source URL
https://docs.cloud.google.com/network-connectivity/docs/interconnect/concepts/service-providers
Record type
Other
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Google Cloud Interconnect service providers: Cogentco
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
2
Source ownership
Independent public record
Limitation and notes
Vendor partner list, group or global brand (not the UK registered entity). Locations: Cogentco in overall list; not under London. Region not confirmed. WebFetch reader summary only (page is JS-rendered, not raw text); locations are from the London section of the summary, layer model per summary. Service model labels may be unreliable. Live page check 2026-10-06: not reached (checker stopped early). Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page not published or available to review (could not be read or checked on the live page); Harry's call 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Service and Performance: Cloud on-ramp: Google Cloud Interconnect
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
Not recorded
MPLS-727 — Accepted: Cogent Europe network map (PDF)
Slug
cogent
Decision
Accepted
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-727
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/files/docs/network/maps/map_europe.pdf
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Cogent Europe network map (PDF)
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Page-reader check 2026-10-02, not verbatim. Checked 2026-10-02. Entity: Cogent Communications (cogentco.com, global site). Cities read from the Europe network map via reader summary; map is undated. Map shows network cities, not stated as PoPs for MPLS IP-VPN. Dublin exclud Live page check 2026-10-06: supports a weaker or differently scoped claim. Europe map lists these cities including Dublin (Ireland); AS174 also shown; fetch summary does not confirm all are Cogent UK PoPs. Decision 2026-10-06: Accepted (live page read; supports a weaker or differently scoped claim, so the limitation above applies; accepted by Harry 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Network and Coverage: UK PoP cities (comma separated)
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
AS174
MPLS-728 — Accepted: Cogent network map
Slug
cogent
Decision
Accepted
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-728
Confidence
Medium
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/en/network/network-map
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Cogent network map
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Page-reader check 2026-10-02, not verbatim. Checked 2026-10-02. Entity: Cogent Communications (cogentco.com, global site). Page gives 308 markets in 58 countries; markets are not PoPs. Routes tried: network-map page, Europe map PDF, products page, keyword search, LINX prese Decision 2026-10-06: Accepted (tier 1 source, wording and supported columns recorded, reader-checked; verbatim check on the live page still due).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Network and Coverage: Global PoP count (integer or Not published)
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
308 markets in 58 countries
MPLS-729 — Accepted: Cogent Asia-Pacific network map (PDF)
Slug
cogent
Decision
Accepted
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-729
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/files/docs/network/maps/map_asia_pacific.pdf
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Cogent Asia-Pacific network map (PDF)
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Page-reader check 2026-10-02, not verbatim. Checked 2026-10-02. Entity: Cogent Communications (cogentco.com, global site). From reader summary of undated map. Internet-led network; MPLS IP-VPN availability per country not stated. Live page check 2026-10-06: supports a weaker or differently scoped claim. Global statistic only; map lists Asia-Pacific cities but no Middle East or Africa breakdown in result. Decision 2026-10-06: Accepted (live page read; supports a weaker or differently scoped claim, so the limitation above applies; accepted by Harry 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Network and Coverage: Coverage: Middle East and Africa; Network and Coverage: Coverage: Asia Pacific
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
308 markets in 58 countries
MPLS-730 — Accepted: Cogent carrier neutral data centers
Slug
cogent
Decision
Accepted
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-730
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/network/carrier-neutral-data-centers
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Cogent carrier neutral data centers
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Page-reader check 2026-10-02, not verbatim. Checked 2026-10-02. Entity: Cogent Communications (cogentco.com, global site). Operator names read from reader summary; UK facility names and cities not given. Cogent's own data centre page (https://www.cogentco.com/network/cogent Live page check 2026-10-06: supports a weaker or differently scoped claim. Counts per operator (e.g. Interxion, Colt, Digital Realty) combined UK and Europe; no UK city or site names. Decision 2026-10-06: Accepted (live page read; supports a weaker or differently scoped claim, so the limitation above applies; accepted by Harry 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Network and Coverage: On-net UK data centres (comma separated)
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
56 Cogent-lit facilities in the UK and Europe
MPLS-731 — Accepted: Cogent Americas network map (PDF)
Slug
cogent
Decision
Accepted
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-731
Confidence
High
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/files/docs/network/maps/map_americas.pdf
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Cogent Americas network map (PDF)
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Page-reader check 2026-10-02, not verbatim. Checked 2026-10-02. Entity: Cogent Communications (cogentco.com, global site). From reader summary of undated map; internet network, MPLS IP-VPN per country not stated. Live page check 2026-10-06: verified, exact wording captured. Map PDF heading; Cogent global network, not UK-entity specific. Decision 2026-10-06: Accepted (live page read, quotation captured).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Network and Coverage: Coverage: Latin America
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
Cogent's Tier-1 Optical IP Network - Latin America
MPLS-778 — Rejected: Cogent network
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-778
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/en/network
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Cogent network
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Page-reader check 2026-10-02, not verbatim. Cogent own site, global figure not UK. Counts markets served on facilities-based network; 'on-net PoPs' not stated. Country list not seen. Page undated. Live page check 2026-10-06: not reached (checker stopped early). Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page not published or available to review (could not be read or checked on the live page); Harry's call 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Network and Coverage: Countries with on-net PoPs (count)
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
serves over 308 markets in 58 countries
MPLS-809 — Rejected: Service Locations | Cogent Communications
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-809
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://www.cogentco.com/en/network/service-locations
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Service Locations | Cogent Communications
Published date
Not shown
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Page-reader check 2026-10-02, not verbatim. Cogent global figure for its IP network, not a UK figure and not stated as MPLS PoPs. Partial because the page says serves, not on-net PoPs, and carries no date. Checked 2026-10-02. WebFetch reader summary, quote not confirmed ver Live page check 2026-10-06: not reached (checker stopped early). Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page not published or available to review (could not be read or checked on the live page); Harry's call 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Network and Coverage: Countries with on-net PoPs (count)
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
serves over 308 markets in 58 countries across its facilities-based, all-optical IP network
MPLS-824 — Rejected: Cogent Communications Holdings, Inc. Form 10-K FY2025
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-824
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1158324/000110465926017968/ccoi-20251231x10k.htm
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Cogent Communications Holdings, Inc. Form 10-K FY2025
Published date
2026
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Page-reader check 2026-10-02, not verbatim. Filing says services delivered in 57 countries, not strictly on-net PoPs. Cogent Network Map page (cogentco.com/en/network/network-map, undated) says 58 countries and 308 markets: conflict flagged. Parent company filing (Cogent Co Live page check 2026-10-06: page could not be read by the fetch tool. WebFetch refused the SEC URL (provenance restriction), so the 10-K could not be read. Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page not published or available to review (could not be read or checked on the live page); Harry's call 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Network and Coverage: Countries with on-net PoPs (count); Network and Coverage: NOC locations (comma separated); Commercial Model: Install lead time published (weeks or Not published)
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
in 57 countries across North America, Europe, South America, Asia, Oceania and Africa
MPLS-825 — Rejected: Network Services SLA Cogent (Ver. Jan 06)
Slug
cogent
Decision
Rejected
Provider
Cogent
Source ID
MPLS-825
Confidence
Low
Source URL
https://sites.pitt.edu/~dtipper/2110/SLA.pdf
Record type
Service page
Checked date
2026-10-02
Source title
Network Services SLA Cogent (Ver. Jan 06)
Published date
2006-01
Reliability tier
1
Source ownership
Provider's own
Limitation and notes
Page-reader check 2026-10-02, not verbatim. Customer-side copy of a January 2006 SLA, North America and Europe, older than three years. Current cogentco.com SLA page not located (two URL guesses returned 404). Internet access SLA, not confirmed for VPN. Live page check 2026-10-06: not reached (checker stopped early). Decision 2026-10-06: Rejected (page not published or available to review (could not be read or checked on the live page); Harry's call 2026-10-06).
Sector (if case study)
None
Named product or service
None
Named customer (case studies only)
None
Sheets and columns this source supports
Service and Performance: Service credits published
Exact supporting wording (25 words max, verbatim)
One (1) day Service Credit = 1/30th of Customer's Monthly Recurring Charges.